• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

2010 (3) Iolanthe

E-mail Print PDF

A Magical New Production

October 29, November 5, November 6th  at 8.00 pm
October 30, November 6 at 2.00 pm
The Alexander Theatre, Monash University

Iolanthe was Gilbert and Sullivan's first masterpiece.  It is an inspired creation with both author and composer at their peak.  The Arcadian shepherd, Phyllis and Strephon are in love.  But the naughty House of Lords visits Phyllis in a bid to win her hand.  Strephon, however, is the son of a fairy, Iolanthe.  With his mother's help and that of the powerful Fairy Queen, the lovers are reunited.  Gilbert's libretto is a clever mix of satire and fantasy.  Sullivan's fairy music is sublime, with echoes of Mendelssohn intertwined with the regal and stately music for the Peers.

Directed by Leonie Cambage
Musical Direction by Nigel McBain
Designed by Katherine Branch

The Lord Chancellor Andy Payne
Mountararat Josh Perillo
Tolloller Daniel Todd
Private Willis Jerzy Kozlowski
Strephon Tobias Glaser
Queen of the Fairies Jenny Wakefield
Iolanthe Cheryl MacDonald
Celia Michelle McCarthy
Leila Nicole Free
Fleta Julia Harper
Phyllis Amy Spruce
Frog Ballet Dancers/Lord Chancellor's Servants
Andy Payne

Natalie Phillips

Keir Jasper
Fairy Queen's gnome Gerard Fullarton (Oct 29, Nov 5,6)
Craig Ingrey (Oct 30, Nov 6 matinee)
Esther Counsel, Stephanie Dingnis, Annika Hobart-Topp, Naomi Hyndman, Gizelle Manoli, Natalie Phillips, Josie Pulitano, Tegan Rudolph.
Gavin Fry, Gerard Fullarton, Greg Galon, David Gerard, Craig Ingrey, Ben Klein,Ken Knight, Simon Messer, Bradley Storer, Jamie Tampion, Frank (Val) Ward.
Leonie Cambage
Musical Director
Nigel McBain
Katherine Branch
Violins: Tim Charles (Concertmaster), Eric Di Florio, Simon Kux, Lauren Maisey, Jody Porter, Mark Sadka, Mat Westwood. Viola: Rosie Burns, David Chan, Camilla Pondel. Cello: Michael Celata, Cate Jollife. Double Bass: Krishna Ragunathan. Flute/Piccolo: Effie Hamilton, Leanne Hyndman. Oboe: Donna Chung. Clarinet: Macarthur Clough, Frances Walker, Jason Xanthoudakis. Bassoon: Catherine Bates. Horn: Chris Jensen, Ben Maunder. Trumpet: Simon Homberg, Shane Lebbe. Trombone: Dominic Hastie, Kieran Washburn. Percussion: Mario Dobernigl.
Production Crew
Production Managers: John Larcombe, Leonie Cambage. Stage Manager: Nikkii Baker. Assistant Stage Manager: Gordon Bull. Repetiteurs: Luke Hutton, Joyce Li.  Special Costume Making: Emma Capponi, Emma Wallace. Photography: Brian Taylor. Set Building Supervisor: David Gerard.  Set and Props Making: David Angelico, John Angelico, Ken Read, Craig Ingrey, Ken Knight, Simon Messer. Lighting and Sound Operators: Chris Angelico, Michael Angelico. Scenic Artist: Nikkii Baker.  DVD Recordings: E-Mediate Video Productions. Audio Recordings: JeeveS Audio. Program: Robert Ray.