• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

1999 - The Rose of Persia


Director: Richard Burman
Musical Director: Rick Prakhoff

12, 13, 19, 20 November
at the Phoenix Theatre, Burwood

Photo Album

The Sultan of Mahmoud of Persia: Colin Simpson
Hassan (a philanthropirst): Ron Pidcock
Yussuf (a professional story teller): Julian Wilson, Michael Lapina
Abdallah (a priest): Alan Brown
The Grand Vizier: Earmonn Kelly
The physician-in- Chief: Colin Polites
The Royal Executioner: Andrew Reid
A Royal Guard: Martin Wright
The Sultana Zubeydeh(named Rose-in-bloom): Kate Taylor
Scent-of-Lillies(a favourite slave): Amelia Reynolds
Heart's Desire(a favourite slave): Susan Coull
Honey-of-life(a favourite slave): Rachel Buckley
Dancing Sunbeam(Hassan's first wife): Judith Sporton
Blush-of-Morning (Hassan's twenty-fifth wife): Caroline Mould
Song-of-Nightingales (a wife of Hassan): Diana Hatch
Oasis-in-the Desert: Shakira Searle
Moon-upon-the-waters: Irene Dietrich
Whisper-of-the-west-wind: Laura Caire
Garden-of-Delights: Tiffany Ball

Peter Angwin, Russell Barnard, Frances Brooks, Jenny Caire, Naomi Camilleri, Matthew Champion, Michael Champion, Jenny Coll, Norman Dalton, Julian Fay, David Gerard, Peter Grant, Judy Hall, Diana Hatch, David Hennell, Geoff Hirst, Peter Hirst, Sarah Jowett, Julia Konig, Susan Marshall, Andrew Phillips, Robyn Pidcock, Frank Platford, Robert Porter, Sally Roose, Asha Searle, Torquil Syme, Frank Val Ward, Gavin Watson, Linda Wood, Phil Younger, Sue Younger


Violin: Bruce Clapperton, Sophie Clapperton, Graeme Morris, Rohan Mack
Viola: John Clancy
'Cello: Solvei Jankowski
Double Bass: Sharon Crick
Flute: Sam Cooke, Carolyn Ondaatje
Oboe: Edwin Denton
Clarinet: Christ Ondaatje, Melissa Hughes
Jenny Ottosson, Max Neil
French Horn: Kate Peart, Lindsay Buchannon
Trumpet: Chris Cole, Jenny Stengards
Trombone: Carmello Puglesi, David MacArthur, Helen Giokas
Percussion: Bruce Lancashire

Production Manager: Martin Wright
Personnel Coordinator: Sally Roose, Sarah Jowett
Stage Manager: John Larcombe
Artwork: Jenny McDonald
Chorus Leaders: Frances Brooke, Robert Collier
FOH: Robert Collier
Lighting: Stuart Clark
Photography: Robin Halls
Programme: Martin Wright
Properties: Marilyn Miezis, Lydia Beer
Accompaninists: Lorraine Long, Graeme Burnham
Publicity: Susan Marshall, Linda Wood
Rehearsal Suppers: Clare Grosser, Shakira Searle, Andrew Phillips
Security Backstage: George Harrison, Shanna Hetrick
Set Construction: Trevor Dawson
Set Design: Jenny McDonald
Stage Crew: Gordon Bull
Ticket Secretary: Dorothy Carlile
Musical Covers: Jenny Caire, Laura Caire, Diana Hatch, Robert Porter
Wardrobe: Sue Younger, Robyn Pidcock, Judy Hall